How I Meal Plan

IMG_6227.JPG

So, I know you have heard this quote a million times, but “If you fail to prepare, you are preparing to fail”. That quote could not be any more accurate than it is right now. When I forget to meal plan or just get too busy to make some sort of loose plan at the beginning of the week, I always end up eating random unhealthy snacks (I AM LOOKING AT YOU SALTINE CRACKERS) and really just don’t make good choices on the fly. I need to plan a little in order to keep me loyal to a healthy lifestyle.

Meal planning and prepping is a big part of the whole getting healthy thing. If you want to start being a little more healthy, then meal planning was made for you.

I started meal planning about two months ago. For the first two years of my getting fit journey, I had just been writing down what I ate after I ate it and was logging my food and things that way. But, I had reached a point where I was getting off track a little because I didn’t have a set meal plan that I had to follow. The last few months, I’ve skidded a little bit and haven’t necessarily been eating as healthy as I would like to be.

So, I decided that I needed to come up with a new way to get back on track and get back to where I was before (and hopefully propel me towards my weight loss goal). I thought and thought and looked at Pinterest and then did even more thinking. THEN IT HIT ME. It hit me like a ton of bricks. It seemed so obvious– I needed to meal plan. I needed to have something put on paper that I just had to stick to.

So, for my meal planning, I use a Webster Page’s A5 Color Crush Planner. I have the pink one and it is the perfect size to place on my table or desk and meal plan with. If you want something you can take with you while you’re on the move, check out either the Webster’s Pages Traveler Notebook or their Personal Sized Planner. Both are great options to travel with and they don’t take up a ton of space.

And, for my inserts, I use this Calendar Pack I found at Michael’s. I love the bright and fun dividers and it is perfect for meal planning because there are nice vertical boxes that hold all of your food and fitness plans (and even some motivational stickers or quotes).

Now that you’ve got all of the essentials, you can get planning. Here’s how I did one of my weeks in January:

IMG_6224.JPG

So, I like to do my meal plan in the first vertical box section. I break it down into BLDS (breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snack) and I usually always fill out my breakfast, lunch, and snack options. For dinner, it’s a mystery because I never know if all of my family is going to be home for dinner or if I am going to have to make something for myself. I also like to leave one snack a week open just in case I want to treat myself (you have to treat yourselves guys!).

I like to leave my weekends empty also because they are also very hard to predict. I never now what I am going to eat during the weekends. The one spot I do fill out for the weekends is Saturday’s breakfast. That’s almost always a given for me.

After the food, I like to write down how many steps I get in a day. I am trying to get 10,000 steps every day in 2017, so I always make sure to track my steps everyday so that I can make sure I reach my goal. I separate my workout and the step counter with some washi tape because I have so many washi tapes it is ridiculous. The last thing I put in my planner is my workouts. I like to plan out my workouts so that I don’t just put off working out.

IMG_6234.JPG

I also love to add some quotes, stickers, and post it notes along with my washi tape. I will write out random quotes or use one of the bajillion stickers I bought from Me & My Big Ideas. I also like to add some recipes and meals to try (here’s a nice little homemade tomato sauce recipe for you. You’re welcome).

So, that’s how I meal plan. If you give meal planning a try, send a photo of your planner to me with #AvocardioAddict. I would love to see all of your beautiful planners. 🙂

2 thoughts on “How I Meal Plan

  1. Oooohhh this looks so useful! If you had a recipe index card system you could even take those out shopping with you to help with sticking to a shopping list! I may have to try something like this. I just posted today about having the same issue with not sticking to meal plans.

    Like

Leave a Reply

