Almond Flour Waffles with Chocolate Hazelnut Butter

I vividly remember the day my Mickey Mouse waffle iron died.

It was a nice fall day. I had woken up and sprinted down the stairs to go help my dad make some waffles for breakfast because every Saturday morning we had waffles. I came downstairs just as my dad plugged in the beloved Mickey Mouse waffle iron and poof….. The fuse popped, the plug sparked a little (it was frightening for 12 year old me), and the waffle iron never turned on ever again.

I legit almost started crying.

… and then I made these almond flour waffles and my life was forever changed. These waffles are really nice and light and delicious, especially when they are topped with Justin’s chocolate hazelnut butter (aka my new favorite topping).

I actually never would have tried it unless my aunt didn’t give it to me. She picked up a few packets while she was out grocery shopping because my cousin is engaged to a food blogger and his fiancée loves this stuff. My aunt thought I would too so she bought me some. Little did she know that she would change my life forever.

These little packets are filled with insanely delicious hazelnut butter and are perfectly packaged so that I don’t eat a whole jar in one sitting. AND did I mention that it is delicious? Well, it is and it took this waffle to another levelSo, grab some of these hazelnut butter packets, make these waffles, and enjoy your delicious breakfast (or lunch or dinner or snack).

Almond Flour Waffles with Hazelnut Butter

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Note: If you want to make it vegan, feel free to use maple syrup and two flax eggs instead of honey and eggs.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • dash of salt and cinnamon
  • 1 packet of Justin’s chocolate hazelnut butter (or other topping you like)

Directions

  1. Preheat the waffle iron.
  2. In a bowl, combine all ingredients except the hazelnut butter.
  3. Spray the iron with cooking spray and add half of the batter to it. Cook for 5 minutes (or until golden brown).
  4. Top with hazelnut butter and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

